All Stories

Tuesday, June 23 8:59 a.m. — Warren, mutual aid, company 9 10:15 a.m. — Fisher Lane, Castleton, general illness, companies 5 and 7 10:51 a.m. — Keyser Run Road, Washington, alarm activation, companies 1 and 2 3:09 p.. — Aileen…

Tuesday, June 16 5:42 a.m. — Water Street, Sperryville, motor vehicle accident, companies 2 and 7 7:37 a.m. — South Poes Road, Amissville, abdominal pain, companies 1, 3 and 4 8:24 a.m. — Water Street, Sperryville, injury, companies 4 and…
Pumped and ready

Rappahannock County has 10 new driver/pump operators who recently completed a 16-hour basic pump operator class, including classroom hours and practical exercises, led by Amissville VFR chief J.B. Carter and assistant chief Scott Chamberlin.

Tuesday, June 9 11:18 a.m. — Zachary Taylor Highway, Flint Hill, fire alarm activation, companies 1, 4 and 9 12:03 p.m. — Swindler Hollow Road, Sperryville, chest pain, company 1 5:23 p.m. — Fodderstack Road, Washington, controlled burn, company 1…

Tuesday, June 2 9:27 a.m. — Gay Street, Washington, seizures, companies 1 and 7 1:56 p.m. — Lyle Lane, Amissville, fire alarm activation, company 3 5:36 p.m. — Bryans Road, Sperryville, general illness, companies 1 and 7 Thursday, June 4…

Tuesday, May 19 4:48 a.m. — Aaron Mountain Road, Castleton, chest pain, companies 3 and 5 Wednesday, May 20 7:03 p.m. — Aaron Mountain Road, Castleton, heart attack, companies 3 and 5 8:40 p.m. — Bear Wallow Road, Huntly, general…

Tuesday, May 12 1:14 a.m. — Sperryville Pike, Sperryville, motor vehicle accident, companies 2 and 7 7:28 a.m. — Zachary Taylor Highway,  Flint Hill, motor vehicle accident, companies 1, 4 and 9 8:03 a.m. — Water Street, Sperryville, public service,…
Chester Gap column for May 14

CGVFD at the Apple Blossom Fireman’s Parade Congratulations to the Chester Gap Volunteer Fire Department. Their new tanker took first place in the parade on Friday, May 1 — and they were awarded a Best in Show. The Best in…

Monday, May 4 3:49 p.m. — Acornbrook Lane, Sperryville, motor vehicle accident, companies 1 and 2 10:17 p.m. — Walnut Branch Lane, Huntly, smoke investigation, company 9 Tuesday, May 5 9:28 p.m. — Lee Highway, Sperryville, difficulty breathing, companies 1,…

Tuesday, April 28 7:24 a.m. — Warren, mutual aid, company 9 11:51 a.m. — Slate Mills Road, Sperryville, fire, company 2 5:30 p.m. — Warren, mutual aid, company 9 Wednesday, April 29 5:00 a.m. — Penny Lane, Sperryville, stroke, companies…

Monday, April 20 1:52 p.m. — Slate Mills Road, Sperryville, general illness, companies 5 and 7 2:53 p.m. — Lee Highway, Washington, public service, company 1 9:47 p.m. — Sperryville Pike, Boston, motor vehicle accident, companies 2, 5 and 7…
Amissville’s top responders

At Amissville Volunteer Fire & Rescue’s annual awards banquet earlier this month, awards were given to the responders who answered most of the 600 calls to which Amissville VFR was dispatched in 2014.

Tuesday, April 14 7:15 a.m.  — F. T. Valley Road, Sperryville, medical alarm, companies 5 and 7 Wednesday, April 15 10:08 a.m.  — Doodle Bug Lane, Sperryville, back pain, companies 1 and 7 12:53 a.m. — Warren, mutual aid, company…

Tuesday, April 7 9:45 p.m. — Fodderstack Road, Flint Hill, difficulty breathing, companies 1 and 4 3:05 p.m. — Mill Hill Road, Huntly, brush fire, companies 1, 4 and 9 8:10 p.m. — Johnson Farm Lane, Sperryville, general illness, companies…

Tuesday, March 31 1:56 p.m. — Rollins Ford Road, Amissville, power line down, companies 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 2:38 p.m. — Lee Highway, Washington, cardiac, companies 1 and 7 Wednesday, April 1 7:57 a.m. — Lee Highway, Sperryville,…